202-789-1754 | 800-284-9165

National American Indian Housing Council Staff

Executive Director

Tony Walters

Tony Walters

Executive Director

Tony Walters is from Tahlequah, Oklahoma and is a member of the Cherokee Nation. He has spent the last seven years in Washington, DC working in both the legislative and executive branches of government.  Tony most recently.. Read More

Phone: 202.454.0928

Email: twalters@naihc.net 

Deputy Director

Joe Diehl

Joe Diehl

Deputy Director

Joseph B. Diehl serves as the Deputy Director with over 47 years of experience in association management and accounting/finance.  Joe graduated from Northern Illinois University in 1971 with a BS in Accountancy… Read More

Phone: 202-454-0934

Email: jdiehl@naihc.net

Program Director

Linda Lee Retka

Linda Lee Retka

Training and Technical Assistance Program Director

Linda Lee Retka is National American Indian Housing Council’s Program Director. She has more than 19 years of experience directly related to the management of all aspects of tribal housing … Read More

Phone: 202-454-0946
320-745-2064

Email: lretka@naihc.net

Program Manager

Shane Begay

Shane Begay

Training and Technical Assistance Program Manager - Navajo Nation

Shane Begay is the Training and Technical Assistance Program Manager for the National American Indian Housing Council (NAIHC). Shane is an enrolled member of the Navajo Nation… Read More

Direct Phone: 202.454.0936

Email: sbegay@naihc.net

Program Assistants

Events Planner

Valerie Butterbredt

Valerie Butterbredt

Membership and Advocacy

Valerie Butterbredt is an enrolled member of the Bishop Paiute Tribe in Bishop, California.  She holds a BA in Political Science, graduating from the University of California, Merced in May 2015… Read More

Direct Phone: 202.454.0913

Email: vbutterbredt@naihc.net

Yolanda Almeida

Yolanda Almeida

Finance and Operations

Yolanda Baez-Almeida serves as accounting assistant with over 30 years of experience in accounting primarily in the legal sector.  Yolanda has an Associate’s Degree in Business Administration and Marketing… Read More

Direct Phone: 202.454.0943

Email: yalmeida@naihc.net

Cristy Davies

Cristy Davies

Events Planner

Phone: 202-454-0948

Email: cdavies@naihc.net